Interview with Marina from La Petite Nina

by sneakydesign

Let’s talk about Marina. She is a  beautiful lady with a very creative mind. Besides dancing, she is also very good at designing. When I saw her collection “La Petite Nina”, she got my attention. 

First of all, let’s see some of her creations!
All the pieces are one-of-a-kind and are all for sell.

il_570xN.331216355

il_570xN.429295370_nu70

il_570xN.430019631_rl3c

il_570xN.452419127_droh

il_570xN.439246743_dcp6

il_570xN.463760666_jm0y

il_570xN.429297582_ip4u

 

Q – Hello Marina. First of all, congrats with your beautiful collection! Please tell us a little about yourself..
A – I am born in Luleå, a small town in the north of Sweden. When I was 15 I moved to Stockholm to study at the Royal Swedish Ballet School. I have danced basically all my life, and after the ballet school I moved to Bruxelles to study at P.A.R.T.S (Performing Arts, Research and Training Studios). The first time I came here to Bruxelles, I knew that this was a place where I would stay for a while. I really like the multicultural vibe here and there is so much happening, culture and art is great here.

Q – What does fashion mean to you?
A – I have always had an interest for clothes and style. I really enjoy nice fabrics and great quality. When it comes to fashion, I have never been a person in trend. I more try to dress my personality and my body in a way that suits me. My closet doesn’t change that often, but sometimes it gets new additions of pieces that I wear for many years to come.

il_570xN.461687054_tvab

 

il_570xN.372031503_1ezn Q – What was the first article of clothing you ever designed?
A – At first I used to make my own training clothes for dancing and I remember making some skirts and dresses at the age of 14. When I started again about 4 years ago, the first thing I made was a pair of pants. They turned out really great so I decided to make something else and I have not stopped since.

Q – Where do you get your inspiration?
A – Most of my inspiration comes from the idea of what I would like to wear at the time. Those are almost always the best ideas. Sometimes I get inspiration from the street. If I see a woman who looks really striking then I look at what she is wearing and that can start some new idea for a design.


Q – How would you call your style?
A – The designs are timeless, functional pieces. My design style is elegant, modern and simple with a bohemian touch. It’s important that the pieces are comfortable and flattering for the body and I do my best with this.

Q – What are they made of?
A – They are made in high quality natural materials, such as silk, wool and cotton.

Q – Do you prefer sketching designs or actually constructing them?
A – I really love sketching new ideas while sitting in a café. Sometimes I create something spontanious, just to see how it turns out. But I mostly just prefer the state of being inspired and then I like all aspecs of creating.

il_570xN.435606139_sgtp


Q – Thank you very much for this short interview Marina! 
Where can our readers find out more about you and your work and where can they buy your clothes?
A – No problem. I have a website: http://lapetitenina.com where I share my work and my inspiration. My clothes are sold on my etsy shop: Etsy

il_570xN.439721199_omq9

 

Do you like her fashion designs? Then be one of the fans on her facebook fan page https://www.facebook.com/pages/La-petite-nina/195459853900425

Note: All the pictures in this post are creations of Marina!

 

 

 

Stay up to date with the sneakydesign facebookpage. 

 

